Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


I’ve never been addicted to the remote.

Even as a youngster. Hell, when I was a kid, the word remote meant the dark, wet jungles of Borneo. Oh, there were times in my impetuous youth I watched the occasional Seinfeld or Cheers. Or anytime Brett Favre and the Green Bay Packers played. Same went for the PGA and Arnold Palmer. Never once had I used the remote to plant my flag on any one series. Oh, how the times have they changed.

Mondays are now my favorite days.

Not because I relish dragging my ass into work after two glorious days off, but because the writer/detective series Castle airs on ABC at 10 pm E.S.T.

Now I get my mother’s unabashed loyalty to Jack and The Young & The Restless all those years ago. Carrying on the tradition, I’m riveted by Castle and never miss an original episode if I can possibly help it. However, six years ago, I remember turning off the first episode halfway through the show. 

But like the elusive sporting marlin, Castle eventually hooked me.

Going back now through those first episodes makes me realize just how close I came to missing absolute TV brilliance. It simply doesn’t exist anymore. Maybe I’m biased because I’m a writer and find Castle to be a very useful muse in my creativity. To me, Castle’s character development/ portrayals, trickery of plot and attention to detail are all essential & vital tools needed in every writer’s toolbox.   

STANA KATIC, NATHAN FILLION

After what felt like the longest hiatus in history, Castle Season 6 kicked off with “”Valkyrie,” and I’ll tell you I liked and didn’t after waiting an entire summer.

Let’s dig right in, shall we? But first I must issue a “spoiler’s alert” here. If you haven’t seen the episode yet . . . turn back now.

Castle Premiere Photo

Castle Season 5, of course, concluded with Kate having the opportunity to head to D.C. for a dream job and Castle’s proposal of marriage at their favorite swing set.

So… what happened?

Following some hilarious back-and-forth banter Beckett & Castle pull off with more precision than combatants in the WFF, Becket says yes in classic Beckett style. After six years the two sleuths are engaged.

A giant rock to seal the deal…

Two months later after Beckett has relocated to D.C., Castle is returning from a lengthy book tour. After six weeks of not seeing each other, Castle pops in to surprise his gorgeous fiancée when yet another major case keeps Kate bottled up in the Nation’s Capital. However this one revolves around top-secret and national security, which of course Castle is unable to resist. After sticking his nose in Beckett’s affairs, Castle not only lands her in trouble, he ‘s abducted by an ex ops type who mysteriously dies in the process. Castle is told he is not needed in DC and catches the next flight home.

But with a deadly problem.

Exposed to the same deadly toxin that killed the man Beckett and company were on the hunt. Given 24 hours to live, in true Castle fashion, the fantastic twist left a big “To Be Continued,” as Castle begins to ponder his last hours on earth.

What will happen to our favorite writer/detective?

We know he can’t die. But what about long-term effects? Will this result of exposure tear at the unique fabric between him and Beckett?

What I liked and didn’t.

  • Not enough of Ryan and Espo.
  • Clever ending. Twists you don’t see coming are the best ones.
  • Totally unbelievable Alexis’ boyfriend. While I can see some future hilarious banter between “Pi” and Castle, Alexi’s IQ doesn’t match up well with Pi’s “Fruitarian” lifestyle. Anyone for juicy Papaya steaks? And the fact overbearing father Castle isn’t freaking out over this 21st century beatnik didn’t ring true.
  • Ryan practicing to be a dad was classic while Esposito rolls his eyes.
  • First episode and no Lanie? Not cool.
  • Promise of Knick’s front row tickets always seem to work magic on the boys.
  • Lisa Edelstein as Beckett’s new partner? Ain’t gonna work. I prefer the testosterone triage of Ryan, Espo, and Castle. This works. Doesn’t need any partner “enhancement”. Of course…I’m bias. I’m a guy and a writer.

wtd

Hit up the comments section!

Let me know how I did as TV critic. How would you do better? Did you like “Valkyrie.” Was the opening episode what you expected or a bit of a letdown?

